Traditional Chung do Kwan Tae Kwon-Do, Inc.

Celebrating a Proud Tradition Since 1969

Interpretation of Tae Kwon-Do Hyungs

Last update -- December 13, 2020

There are a total of 24 Tae Kwon-Do patterns. The life of a human being, perhaps 100 years, can be considered as a day when compared with eternity. Therefore, we mortals are no more than simple travelers who pass by the eternal years of an anon in a day.
It is evident that no one can live more than a limited amount of time. Nevertheless, most people foolishly enslave themselves to materialism as if they could live for thousands of years. And some people strive to bequeath a good spiritual legacy for coming generations, in this way, gaining immortality. Obviously, the spirit is perpetual while material is not. Therefore, what we can do to leave behind something for the welfare of mankind is, perhaps, the most import thing in our lives.

The 24 patterns represent 24 hours, one day, or all of a life.







Kup Hyungs

White Belt

ChonJi means literally "the Heaven and Earth". It is, in the Orient, interpreted as the creation of the world or the beginning of human history, therefore, it is the initial pattern learned by the beginner. The pattern consists of two similar parts; one to represent the Heaven and the other the Earth.

Orange Belt

DanGun is named after the holy DanGun, the legendary founder of Korea in the year of 2334 B.C. 

Orange Belt

BoChung means loyalty, and additional form. 

Green Belt

DoSan is the pseudonym of the patriot Ahn ChangHo. The 24 movements represents his entire life which he devoted to furthering the education of Korea and its independence movement. 

Green Belt

WonHyo was the noted monk who introduced Buddhism to the Silla Dynasty in the year of 686 A.D. 

Blue Belt

YulGok is the pseudonym of a great philosopher and scholar YiI, nicknamed the "Confucius of Korea". The 38 movements of this pattern refer to his birthplace on the 38 degree latitude and the diagram represents "scholar". 

Blue Belt

JoongGun is named after the patriot Ahn JoongGun who assassinated Hiro BumiIto, the first Japanese governor-general of Korea, known as the man who played the leading part in the Korea-Japan merger. There are 32 movements in this pattern to represent Mr. Ahn's age when he was executed in Lui Shung prison in 1910. 

Brown Belt

ToiGye is the pen name of the noted scholar Yi Hwang, an authority on neo-Confucianism. The 37 movements of the pattern refer to his birthplace on the 37 latitude, the diagram represents "scholar". 

Dan Hyungs

Brown Belt

HwaRang is named after the Hwa Rang Do youth group which originated in the Silla Dynasty in the early 7th century. The 29 movements refer to the 29th Infantry Division, where Tae Kwon-Do developed into maturity. 

Brown Belt
1st Dan-R

ChoongMoo was the name given to the great Admiral Yi SoonSin of the Yi Dynasty. He was reputed to have invented the first armored battleship in 1592, which is said to be the precursor of the present day submarine. The reason why this pattern ends with a left hand attack is to symbolize his regrettable death, having no chance to show his unrestrained potentiality. 

1st Dan

KwangGae is named after the famous GwangGae TohWang, the 19th King of the Koguryo Dynasty, who regained all the lost territories including the greater part of Manchuria. The diagram represents the expansion and recovery of lost territory. The 39 movements refer to his rein for 39 years. 

2nd Dan-R

PoEun is the pseudonym of a loyal subject Chong MoongChu who was a famous poet and whose poem "I would not serve a second master though I might be crucified a hundred times" is known to every Korean. He was also a pioneer in the field of physics. The diagram represents his unerring loyalty to the king and country towards the end of the Koryo Dynasty. 

2nd Dan

GeBaek is named after GeBaek, a great general in the BaekJe Dynasty. The diagram represents his service and strict military discipline. 

3rd Dan-R

SeJong is named after the greatest Korean King, SeJong, who invented the Korean alphabet in 1443, and was also a noted meteorologist, having invented the first rain gauge in human history. The diagram represents the king, while the 24 movements refer to the 24 letters of the Korean alphabet. 

3rd Dan

YooSin is named after General Kim YooSin, a commanding general during the Silla Dynasty. The 68 movements refer to the last two figures of 668 A.D. the year Korea was united. The ready posture signifies a sword drawn on the right rather than the left side, symbolizing YooSin's mistake of following his king's orders to fight with foreign forces against his own nation. 

4th Dan

ChoongJang is the pseudonym given to General Kim Duk Ryang who lived during the Yi Dynasty, 14th century. This pattern ends with a left-hand attack to symbolize the tragedy of his death at 27, while in prison, before he was able to reach full maturity. 

5th Dan

ChoiYong is named after General ChoiYoung, Premier and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed forces during the 14th century Koryo Dynasty. ChoiYoung was greatly respected for his loyalty, patriotism, and humility. He was executed by his subordinate commanders headed by General Yi SungGae, who later became the first king in the Yi Dynasty. 

6th Dan

TongIl denotes the resolution of the unification of Korea which has been divided since 1945. The diagram symbolizes the homogenous race. 

7th Dan
8th Dan
9th Dan

Grand Masters often teach the six remaining Hyungs, in no particular order, to their high ranking Black Belts, determined only by the student's present day mental and physical conditioning.

<< Return To Top